Find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles
* (These links require login when off-campus. Visit the library for the current passwords)
Do you need help writing a research paper? Try out our new Research Guide!
It will help you
- Navigate the Research Steps
- Improve search results
- Evaluate sources
- Properly cite sources
Use the Research Guide to help you get started on your research paper.
For personalized service, email or visit us on campus.
Welcome to LASC Library eResources
We are here to help you find information so you may succeed in your academic career and beyond.
This libguide contains access to the LASC online databases and resources.
Click the tab "Find books and articles by discipline" to look for eBooks, resources in Spanish, and resources within a certain subject. Databases which cover multiple subjects are also available here. For example, if you want to find information which will help you write a business plan for an entrepreneur class, click the above tab "Find books and articles by discipline," then click on the Jump To link "Business & Economics."
The tab "Reference, Current Events, Plus More" contains resources which will help you find information for Biographies, Controversial Topics, and Current Events. It also contains links to Magazines, News & Newspapers, and General Reference.
If you know the name of the database you want to use, click the "A-Z List of Electronic Resources." That page contains all online resources which are available through the LASC Library.
If you need personalized service, email or visit us on campus!
Visiting the Library
The Library is temporarily located in the Library Center across from the Sheriff's Building.
|Monday - Thursday:||7:45 a.m. - 7 p.m.|
|Friday:||7:45 a.m. - 1 p.m.|
8:00 a.m. - noon
|Campus Holidays and non-Instruction days|
|September 2, 2013, Monday, Labor Day|
|November 11, 2013, Monday, Veteran's Day|
|November 28, 2013, Thursday, Thanksgiving|
|November 29, 2013, Friday, Thanksgiving|
|November 30, 2013, Saturday, Non-Instruction|
|December 1, 2013, Sunday, Non-Instruction|
Remote Access Databases
Show your current Student ID to Staff in the LASC Library Center and pick up your copy of passwords/ID for remote access to electronic databases. To access databases from off campus, students need to go to: www.lasc.edu then click on “Library” in the blue menu box, then click on “Electronic Resources.” These resources are for LASC students and faculty only; please do not share password information.
Checking Out Items
Your student I.D. card with the current semester sticker is also your library card.
Only currently enrolled students with their I.D. or LASC staff/faculty may check out materials from the library.
If you do not have a current semester sticker or LASC photo I.D. card, you can obtain an I.D. from the Assessment Center in the Student Services Building (SSB) room 204 and a sticker from the Business Office in SSB room 103.
Some instructors may put a copy of their current textbook on reserve in the library. Only one reserve item may be checked out at a time for in-library use. Books on reserve may be checked out for two hours only for in-library use.